11 Parsecs Temple Archives -

Disney canon

The Disney+ canon refers to the official Star Wars universe established by The Walt Disney+ Company after their acquisition of Lucasfilm in 2012. This canon includes all the Star Wars movies, TV shows, novels, comics, and other media released by Disney+ and its affiliates.

The Disney+ canon includes all the Star Wars movies, including the sequel trilogy (The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi, and The Rise of Skywalker), the standalone films (Rogue One and Solo), and the original trilogy (A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi) which were released before the acquisition.

The Disney+ canon also includes various animated TV shows such as The Clone Wars, Rebels, Resistance, and the upcoming The Bad Batch.

The Disney+ canon includes a vast array of novels and comics that expand the Star Wars universe. These include the Aftermath Trilogy, the Thrawn series, the Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens series, and many more.

The Disney+ canon is maintained by the Lucasfilm Story Group, which ensures that all Star Wars media released by Disney+ is consistent and interconnected. This means that events and characters established in one piece of media will have an impact on other media within the same canon.

Before the Disney+ acquisition, there was an extensive Star Wars universe outside of the movies known as the Star Wars Legends. However, the Disney+ canon exists separately from the Legends canon, and most of the content from Legends has been designated as non-canon or "Legends" and is no longer considered part of the official Star Wars universe.

Mentions on Podcast Episodes: